The Zebra - Horse breeds, horse breeding and types of horse.   
[Index of Horse Breeds] [Equiworld Horse Magazine]


The zebra belongs to the same family as the horses and ponies. There are three separate species of zebra:

Grevy's zebras photographed by Victoria Kind
1. The Grevy's Zebra is the largest zebra, with many, narrow vertical stripes, and huge round ears. Grevy's has been called the most domesticatable zebra. Though it's larger & more powerful than the plains zebra, it's easier to train. One behavioral trait of the Grevy's is that in the breeding season, the stallions do not have harems. Instead, each stallion is highly territorial, defending a little patch of land, and trying to mate with any females that happen to come cruising through.
2. Plains zebra The common Plains Zebra can also be domesticated and have been used as harness animals. They are easy keepers and are said to be more intelligent than mules or donkeys, which may be where they get their reputation for being difficult to train. horse
Plains zebras phographed by Victoria Kind

3. The Mountain Zebra. They are smaller, and are recognizable by a dewlap under the neck. They are least suitable for training, partly because their conformation makes them poor riding or driving animals, and partly because ones captured from the wild are difficult to tame.

The Quagga
Captive quaggas were very tame, and a pair of quaggas were used in harness in London in the 1800's. They were also used as driving animals in South Africa and as guards for horses and sheep, since quaggas were very bold at chasing off predators. Quaggas were also one of the most spectacularly beautiful zebras. Quaggas are now extinct, the last known specimen having died in 1872.

Back to Breeds


Copyright 1994 to 2024 Equiworld at Hayfield, Aberdeen, Scotland - 30 years on the web. Archived Version.