Click For Home - and the logo device are copyright 1996.
Equestrian Chat Rooms and Message Horse Site IndexHow To Contact The TeamNeed Help Using Equiworld?
Equiworld, for real horse power.
Special Sections for Members
Equestrian Products and Product Reviews
Information on Horse Care and Breeds
HorseLinks and Equestrian Search Engine
Sports, Events and Results On-Line Equestrian Magazine
Riding Holidays and Travel
Training and Education of Horse and Rider
Equestrian Services
Advertise Your Equestrian Company Here

Indio 2002 HITS Indio Desert Circuit Wraps On A High Note

The weather was perfect. The HITS Indio Desert Circuit lived up to its expectation of "Horse Shows In The Sun!" Trainer John Turner, decked out in sunglasses and a short-sleeved shirt, lamented returning to the State of Washington. "You know it snowing at home don't you?"

As the capacity crowd filled the Sponsor Tent and seating around the Grand Prix field, Circuit Champions paraded in to the applause of the crowd. Peter Pletcher rode Becky Gochman's Bohemia to the First Year Green Circuit championship, while Tracy Sully took home two Circuit reserve championships with Choreography for First Year Green Hunters and Amateur Owner 36-50 Hunters.

Nicoletta Von Heidegger captured dual championships as well. She rode her Material Girl to the Modified Child/Adult Hunter title, and earned the Pony Equitation title. Mary Ann Weisberg-Perry enjoyed the Desert Circuit, and it was capped by her Circuit championship with Petrus in the Amateur Owner 36-50 division.

Jordan Lubow rode Caped Crusader to the Large Junior Hunter 15 & under championship, while Kendle Handtmann rode her Remember Me to the Small Junior Hunter 15 & Under. In the 16-17 Junior sections, Jamie Taylor rode Austin to the Small championship, and Andrew Ramsay rode his L'Azure to the Large championship.

Dana Levin and Blackmail were the ones to beat during the six-week Indio Desert Circuit in the High Amateur Owner Jumper division. Jordan Lubow won her second Circuit championship aboard Ukase Du Marais in the High Junior Jumpers. However, it was Andrew Ramsay who dominated the $25,000 Junior-Amateur Owner Jumper Classic. He finished first and second aboard Lisa and Nighty, respectively.

John Bragg and Glen Eagle took home the Patricia O'Connell Grand Hunter Champion Trophy for owner Rosie Garlock. Jamie Taylor was honored with the Potcreek Meadow Farm Junior Sportsmanship Award, and Ray Texel earned the Jimmy Kohn Style of Riding Award presented by Karen Healey.

Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.