Horse and pony - site index.Horse chat message boards.Horse breeds, types and breeding gallery.Search for horse information on Equiworld.Horse information and equestrian news horse and pony magazine.Horse web links.  

Show Jumping Result: IJM Timberframe Grand Prix League - Clarke Wins Opener at Coilog

The new-founded partnership of Galway rider Olive Clarke and Hands Free swept into an early lead in the IJM Timberframe-sponsored Grand Prix League by taking the opening event at Coilog, Co. Kildare, this afternoon.

The 25 starters found Gerry Byrne's course more than a little tricky in the the mixed weather conditions, with only Clarke and Edward Little on Pulserate leaving everything intact after the opening round.

In the two-horse jump-off, Little steered Pulserate clear again, in a testing time of 34.84, but Clarke followed up by getting Hands Free clear and clocking-down a time that was over a second faster, taking first place and the League's first 10 point tally of the season.

Clarke, who only acquired Hands Free at the end of last season, said she was absolutely thrilled with the pairing's first outdoor Grand Prix event.

Best placed of the first round four-faulters were Glenn Leddy on Gold Fingers and Olympic panelist Cian O'Connor on Irish Independent Annabella, while Linda Ekberg took fifth on Notting Hill and Conor Swail got Conduct into the points placings by taking sixth.

However, one first-round mistake ruled last year's championship-winning pairing of Peter Smyth and Zara's Pride out of a points finish on this occasion.

sponsored by Logan Earthmoving
Sunday 18th April 2004
Venue: Coilog, Co. Kildare

Prize Money: 3500 Euro

1) Hands Free (Owner D & R Clarke); Olive Clarke Faults 0/0 Time 33.75
2) Pulserate (Owner David Prentice); Edward Little Faults 0/0 Time 34.84
3) Gold Fingers (Owner Michael A Leddy); Glenn Leddy Faults 4/- Time 67.40
4) Irish Independent Annabella (Owner C. O'Connor & S. O'Callaghan); Cian
O'Connor Faults 4/- Time 68.25
5) Notting Hill (Owner Tom Moloney); Linda Ekberg Faults 4/- Time 71.04
6) Conduct (Owner Knightfield Equestrian Centre); Conor Swail Faults 4/-
Time 71.91

25 starters, two through to jump-off

Rankings after Coilog Grand Prix 3500 Euro
Co. Kildare

1) Olive Clarke 10 points
2) Edward Little 8 points
3) Glenn Leddy 6 points
4) Cian O'Connor 4 points
5) Linda Ekberg 3 points
6) Conor Swail 2 points


Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.