Click For Home - and the logo device are copyright 1996.
Equestrian Chat Rooms and Message Horse Site IndexHow To Contact The TeamNeed Help Using Equiworld?
Equiworld, for real horse power.
Special Sections for Members
Equestrian Products and Product Reviews
Information on Horse Care and Breeds
HorseLinks and Equestrian Search Engine
Sports, Events and Results On-Line Equestrian Magazine
Riding Holidays and Travel
Training and Education of Horse and Rider
Equestrian Services
Advertise Your Equestrian Company Here

Rural Riders European Championship - Rescheduled

The Rural Riders European Championship (RREC), being hosted by British Riding Clubs (BRC), and postponed from July this year because of FMD can now go ahead in 2002.

The European Committee has agreed to the rescheduling of the event and it now takes place between 3 and 7 July 2002. The championship will take place at Hartpury College, Gloucestershire. Key officials and contractors lined up for the event in 2001 are now being contacted and are agreeing to support the event in 2002.

There are still many opportunities for companies or individuals to sponsor cross-country fences, the various phases of the championship or the associated social activity. The organisers would welcome enquires from anyone interested in promoting their products at this event and to members of BRC and the European equivalent organisation of Rural Riders. Further information and a sponsorship pack can be obtained from Peter Buist on 01794 368061 or by e-mail at

The RREC is an international horse trial for national teams from Europe where the competitors are members of Riding Clubs or the equivalent European organisation of Rural Riders. The championship has been taking place since 1953 and is now to be hosted by BRC for the first time. Rural Riders have built up a considerable following across Europe with some 8 million members, so it is by no means a low-key organisation. The level of competition is set at 2 - star level. Teams are expected from Germany, Holland, Belgium, Austria, Great Britain, Hungary, Poland, Switzerland, Portugal, Ireland and Sweden, the current champions. Although the main section of the championship is for national teams, other sections will determine the individual champion and allow reserve riders to compete as well. The individual champion will receive a new trophy, kindly donated by Mrs. Dawn Wofford in memory of her late husband Warren. Warren Wofford was instrumental in Britain becoming involved in this event.

Back to the magazine Index