Horse and pony - site index.Horse chat message boards.Horse breeds, types and breeding gallery.Search for horse information on Equiworld.Horse information and equestrian news horse and pony magazine.Horse web links.  

Show Jumping - Kerrygold Grand Prix League - Swail Triumphs At Waterford

THOUGH yesterday's North Wexford Grand Prix winner Eddie Moloney took a second at Waterford today (Sunday) it was Crossgar's Conor Swail who triumphed at Waterford's Super League competition.

Riding <Windgate's Paragon> to its first ever Grand Prix win, the Malahide-based rider also rode the second of Edward Cawley's horses, <Windgate's Mystique> into Fourth, giving Swail enough points to bring him into join sixth on the Kerrygold League table for the first time this year.

On a strong-looking course that the competitors reported afterwards as jumping surprisingly well, Shane Breen was the other league contender who improved his position, with his own <Luandra>, while the two Army riders Capt. Gerry Flynn and Lt. Shane Carey, were once again in the Top Six.

Winner Conor Swail said afterwards: < I am absolutely delighted with the horse. He's by Cavalier, and has loads of scope, but at eight years old, this is a great result for him. The only double clear of the show is quite an achievement for such a young horse.>

RESULT: Waterford Show, Super League Grand Prix, Sunday 27th July 2003.
Sponsored by O'Flynn Victuallers
Prize Money: 4500 Euro

1) WINDGATE'S PARAGON (Owner Edward Cawley); Conor Swail Faults 0/0 Time 54.25
2) JAYNICK (Owner Eddie Moloney); Eddie Moloney Faults 0/4 Time 54.27
3) WINDGATE'S MYSTIQUE (Owner Edward Cawley); Conor Swail Faults 0/4 Time 55.39
4) LUANDRA (Owner Shane Breen); Shane Breen Faults 0/8 Time 52.84
5) BORNACOOLA (Owner Minister for Defence); Capt. Gerry Flynn Faults 0/8 Time 53.11
6) SHANNONDALE (Owner Minster for Defence); Lt. Shane Carey Faults 0/8 Time 53.99

21 starters, 11 riders through to jump-off

KERRYGOLD GRAND PRIX Rankings after Waterford Show, Super League Grand
Prix, Sunday 27th July 2003

1) Harry Marshall 68 points
2) Peter Smyth 65 points
3) Shane Breen 57 points
4) James Kernan 56 points
5) Linda Courtney 50.5 points
=6) Andrew Dunlop 39 points
=6) Conor Swail 39 points


Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.