Horse and pony - site index.Horse chat message boards.Horse breeds, types and breeding gallery.Search for horse information on Equiworld.Horse information and equestrian news horse and pony magazine.Horse web links.  

Show Jumping - Kerrygold Grand Prix League - Smith Takes Dun Laoghaire

A HUGE crowd turned out in brilliant Bank Holiday weather to see Steven Smith take the 3,000 Euro top prize at today's (Monday) Dun Laoghaire Horse Show Grand Prix, riding Robert Hancock's <Laraghlease Western Desert>.

But it was the other places that gave keen watchers of the Kerrygold League table something to talk about.

Harry Marshall, whose No. 1 spot in the League could have been usurped at Dun Laoghaire, substituted his proven Grand Prix winner <Splendido> for <Romance>, and only an unfortunate refusal in the second round stopped him making a bid for victory, but his Fourth earned sufficient Super League points to maintain his league leadership by a comfortable margin.

Lt. David O'Brien added his winner's points from yesterday at South County Dublin to today's Fifth at Dun Laoghaire to catapult him into a new Fourth place in the Kerrygold League, and in the process bumping Linda Courtney out of the vital Top Six.

Andrew Dunlop's Second at Dun Laoghaire re-connected him with the leaders, from whose ranks he had momentarily disappeared, and now shares joint Fifth with Shane Breen.

Competition is now hotting up for Kerrygold glory, with only nine Grands Prix left in the series, and Harry Marshall hotly pursued by a clutch of talented riders, any one of whom could topple him with a single Super League win.

The 10,000 Euro Grand Prix today, at which just five riders made it through to the jump-off, was sponsored by course builder and former show jumper Leslie Fitzpatrick, whose place in history is assured through being the first civilian rider ever to compete on an Irish Nations Cup team.

RESULT: Dun Laoghaire Horse Show, Super League Grand Prix, Monday 4th August '03. Sponsored by Leslie Fitzpatrick
Prize Money: 10,000 Euro

1) LARAGHLEASE WESTERN DESERT (Owner Robert Hancock); Steven Smith Faults 0/0 Time 42.23
2) CRUZ FOREVER (Owner Andrew Dunlop); Andrew Dunlop Faults 0/0 Time 42.37
3) NEWMARKET GIRL (Owner Billy Daly); Danielle Quinlivan Faults 0/0 Time 43.73
4) SPLENDIDO (Owner Harry Marshall); Harry Marshall Faults 0/3 Time 49.01
5) BOHERDEAL CLOVER (Owner Minister for Defence); Lt. David O'Brien Faults 0/4 Time 40.64
6) ATHLETICO 26 (Owner Ronan Clarke); Ronan Clarke Faults 3/-

27 starters, 5 riders through to jump-off

KERRYGOLD GRAND PRIX Rankings after Dun Laoghaire Horse Show, Grand
Prix, Monday 4th August '03

1) Harry Marshall 74 points
=2) Peter Smyth 65 points
=2) James Kernan 65 points
4) Lt. David O'Brien 54 points
=5) Shane Breen 51 points
=5) Andrew Dunlop 51 points


Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.