Horse and pony - Equiworld site index.Horse chat message boards.Horse breeds, types and breeding gallery.Search for horse information on Equiworld.Horse information and equestrian news archive.Equiworld horse and pony magazine.Horse web links.  

Show Jumping Result : IJM Timberframe Grand Prix League - Smyth Wins At Omagh

REIGNING national Grand Prix league champion Peter Smyth continued his steady climb up the 2004 rankings with a win at Omagh, Co. Tryone,
today (Saturday).

Now lying fourth with 50 points, Strabane-born Smyth repeated his 2003 win at Omagh on the former trotter <Zara's Pride>, and was today just over a second ahead of Andrew Dunlop and <Cruz Forever>.

Afterwards, Smyth said: <<It's wonderful to win this Grand Prix two years in a row. The mare went really well, but third-last to jump, I was nervous right up until the end.>>

Indeed, Smyth had every right to be nervous in the jump-off, as the two riders following him, Harry Marshall and Conor Swail, are no strangers to the winners' enclosure. But Marshall had the first fence down, and Swail, riding <Conduct> and hoping to improve upon his third placing with <Drumagoland Flight>, had the last fence down.

Steve Hickey's course allowed ten riders through to the jump-off, but only five managed a second-round clear, with Clem McMahon the best of the four-faulters in a scorching time of 38.44, which otherwise would have secured him second place today.

A double clear from Delyth Collins and <Creevagh Duca Diamond> put them fourth at Omagh, while James Kernan steered <Boeing> into fifth, also recording two fault-free rounds.

Today's third place stretches Conor Swail's lead in the IJM TimberFrame League, with the six points earned giving him a total of 80 points, nine ahead of nearest contender Shane Breen. However, both Breen and Harry Marshall (lying third) turn up at Blessington tomorrow (Sunday), where Super League points could put either of them in contention for the No.1 position in the League.

RESULT: Tyrone Farming Society Grand Prix OMAGH
sponsored by McFadden Ltd.

Saturday July 3, 2004
Venue: Omagh, Co. Tyrone
Prize Money: 3000 Euro

1) Zara's Pride (Owner Edmund Simpson); Peter Smyth Faults 0/0 Time 37.64
2) Cruz Forever (Owner Andrew Dunlop); Andrew Dunlop Faults 0/0 Time 38.90
3) Drumagoland Flight (Owner Samuel McQuade); Conor Swail Faults 0/0 Time 41.40
4) Creevagh Duca Diamond (Owner Ronnie Hollinger); Delyth Collins Faults 0/0 Time 42.74
5) Boeing (Owner James Kernan); James Kernan Faults 0/0 Time 43.49
6) Special Order (Owner Brian McEntee); Clem McMahon Faults 0/4 Time 38.44

34 starters, ten through to jump-off

Rankings after Tyrone Farming Society Grand Prix OMAGH
Omagh, Co. Tyrone, Saturday July 3, 2004

1) Conor Swail 80 points
2) Shane Breen 71 points
3) Harry Marshall 52.5 points
4) Peter Smyth 50 points
5) John Floody 47.5 points
6) Lt David O'Brien 40 points


Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.